Db meter app- Who has experience with them?

Group:

Greetings- I am wondering if anyone has any experience with some of the Db Meter apps that are available on the i-phone? I now have 3 different moderators and have wondered what the realistic numbers are- 'really'. While I do not expect laboratory quality, a relative reading is a good place to start. I will try and use a 22LR report (including ammo and firearm info) as a reference here for everyone- i.e. Federal 510, Champion 40gr LR,RN Factory 1240fps, Rifle: CZ 452HB, 20.5In barrel. That would seem descriptive enough to get everyone in the ballpark...

I see there is a positively rated app on the Apple app store: Decibel X: dB, dBA Noise Meter, but again I have zero experience with Db Meters...

What say you? Thank you in advance for your time and consideration in responding.

Good Luck and Good Shooting, Hi-vel

I've used a couple. In most circumstances they work well, but not so much for airguns (IMHO). Your phone will chop the spikes so you may not get a true reading. This handicap will remain for all DB apps. In my case, my Impact only registers 68db when the phone is right next to the gun. It's a .25 and I know it's louder than 68db, my Marauder reads higher and it's a much quieter gun. Go figure. I believe it's because as the quieter gun, the spike isn't as pronounced, so the Marauder gives a more accurate than the louder Impact.

For firearms, wouldn't trust them at all.

other issues with your fone or tablet is the microfone is optimized for human speech, not short energetic pulses.

My personal iPad has an app that didnt get moved to the work on, so I dont remember what its called. I like that one cuz its fast to react and holds the highest db signal it gets till a bigger one replaces it.

With my fone/tablet I found I got best readings with the device 3 ft in front of and 3 feet left or right off the muzzle.