• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Crosman Crosman Challenger 2021 hand-pumpable?

Sorry for the noob question, but I'm very new to the PCP world - only recently purchased a Crosman 1701P pistol and really enjoying it.
Just about to pull the trigger (stupid pun intended) on the Crosman Challenger 2021 rifle. My question is; will I be able to charge rifle using a Four Uncles hand pump, or should I bite the bullet (another stupid pun) and plan on buying an air compressor? I have no issues filling the pistols 45cc tank, though I realize the Challenger is (I think) 145cc. I'm waiting to hear back from Crosman on reservoir size. I generally shoot 50 rds or less in a shooting session, in no hurry at all. Bad back and eyes start giving out at my age quickly, one of the reasons I'm getting away from rimfire shooting given the expense of ammo, packing everything up to go to range (and hoping to get a decent bench), etc. etc, Much prefer to shoot from the comfort and convenience of home these days. Thanks for any input.
Dan

I hand pump an Avenger that I bottle converted to have a total of about 360 cc. And that's to 4,000 psi, higher than Crosman. It takes like 225 strokes out of my 4 stage pump.

I've read it here before to think of the air tank size as a gas tank in your car. As long as it is above a certain amount it will work, it's just if you have a bigger tank and fill it all the way it works for longer (more shots)

So in summary, yes you can hand pump it. What I'd do is start hand pumping and if you can't do it for physical reasons then spend the $ on a compressor. Keep the hand pump for backup.