• The AGN App is ready! To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Tuning Crosman 140?

Hey, all. I recently bought a Crosman 140 .22 Cal (1979?) and I have some questions and comments about it. Comments first: I love this thing, but it has flaws. It's a bit hard to pump, but I don't mind an upper body workout. The safety design is one of the dumbest things I have ever seen. It reveals the letter "S" while covering the "F" in the firing mode. Does that make any sense? The trigger pull is very heavy. But none of that matters much because I LOVE this gun! It sounds and feels like a .22 rimfire rifle - so cool. None of my other pumpers have a report and slight recoil like this one. So far, I would say it's quite accurate too, but I'm just getting started. I will be employing this baby to pop rodents. It's a killer. I noticed the gas release mechanism is set automatically on your first or second pump versus the usual spring powered bolt action. How does that work? Comments on the model 140 anyone?

You can download some basic information from the Crosman website. There also are some rebuild parts available from ABairguns and I think others also. The 140 was my first step of from bb guns, and it was a big step. I just got several 140s back from getting rebuilt and they are neat little rifles. There's a lot better stuff out there these days but looking at them and shooting them reminds me about when I was 12 or 13 yrs old. If you google them there are also some videos on them.
Rick