Complete noob

All - brand new here - wanting to get into the PCP game but don’t have a fortune to spend (that was done in fly fishing …). Looking for an all around hunter/shooter in a bullpup configuration - I am considering the Air Venturi Avenger BP in .22 cal, though I’m not enamored with the high scope rail. 30 year Army vet - never shot less than an expert score using M-16A1, M-16A2, M-4, and M-9. Only saying they because my standards for accuracy and dependability are high. Any advise, personal experience, or suggestions will be most welcome. I currently shoot a Gamo break barrel 10 shot mag toy in .177 with a UTC Bug Buster but am not impressed. Looking forward to sharing info, experience, and tighter groups!

80CFD2A0-AC50-4FB8-BF7F-B8424AB60077.jpeg

Welcome! It would be helpful to know your total budget. To get into PCP you will need the rifle, scope, air source, and a Chrono. We can help point out ideas if we know your total budget. You could also just tell us your max price for the rifle. I started with an Umarex Origin kit that included a hand pump. It was $299 and then I put a $100 scope on it, bought some pellets, and was shooting. It was way more accurate than my Gamo break barrel, which I immediately sold.

Check out the Kral line of rifles man. They’re tack drivers with no issues. If you’re not looking for a powerhouse look at the NP03, it’s running around 28 fpe stock in 22cal. Easy to pump and a great little hunter. If you have your eye set on a bullpup the puncher breaker has been good to me. With a little work I got mine up to 43fpe. Great looking walnut on these guns also.
I’ve got three Krals and they’re helping teach my three boys to shoot. They’ve been bumped, banged and dropped with never an issue.