• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

buddy fill tank

I am just getting into the p c p air rifle scene. I have an old scuba tank that I could use as a buddy tank if I went on a hunting trip. But the problem is that it weights about 40 lb. and aim getting closer to 70 ever day )
Question is what do y'all use and can an empty nitrous tank be refilled with air?after it has be tested and restamped?
F X crown 3600/250 .25 cal

Also have a compressor but dont want to have to lug it around
thanks

Most scuba tanks have a 3000 psi maximum fill and the most common ones, AL80s, are huge tanks that don’t actually hold that much air. HP steel tanks are generally better, with about a 3500 max fill and usually a larger capacity, but they are usually pretty heavy. Then you have hydro and visual inspections, hydro every 5 years and visual every year. If you can fill them from your own compressor however then you might be ok, wink wink nod nod. LP steel tanks should just be avoided for airgunnjng.

A carbon fiber Scba tank is really what you want however and nobody uses those for scuba. They’re lightweight and can be charged up to 4500 psi which makes them perfect for airgunners.

• Wow
Reactions: Firewalker

I'm slowly making the switch over to air rifle and like most of you have determined the hand pump method is not a good long term solution. I've also figured out the steel and aluminum tanks also have very limited utility just due to PSI restrictions. I am going to try and source a decommissioned carbon fiber tank from a local fire department but I am curious if anyone knows the inspection date requirements for those to be filled, if any. I assume there is some restriction but I don't know if it would apply the same if I took them into a dive shop or a paintball place. Any help is appreciated.