• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Tuning Benjamin Armada bolt

Hi Folks,

Im new to pcp airgunning, Ive been a powder burner, reloader all my all my life, well at least since the mid 1970's

I just got me a used Armada, its appears to be in good shape, holds pressure well, is accurate and Im surprised how hard it hits.

Anyway, after firing a round and when I cycle the bolt I have to pull back on the bolt with some force ( not a lot but noticeable) to get the magazine to rotate to the next round.

I have noticed that the bolt tip protrudes into the magazine well probably about a 1/32 of an inch when the magazine is out, is this normal bolt operation on the Armada/Mauraders?

I apologize if i placed this in the wrong forum...it seemed right for it to be here.

Thanks for any help!

Yup, normal for the Armada but surprisingly not normal for the Marauder. I have both and just purchased both in the last month as my first air guns. I immediately ripped both apart and installed all aftermarket parts. I tried to put different manufacturers/models/purposes parts between the two so that they didn’t turn out to the be exact same air gun.

I’m pretty sure you can make that last tiny pull on the bolt that takes so much effort much easier to do with changing the hammer spring. It may even be possible by backing off of the hammer pretension. I don’t *think* the hammer striker position has anything to do with it but not 100% on that. Either way, by backing off and not replacing anything you’d be tuning the rifle for less air, meaning lower velocity and energy/power. It’s worth it to just replace the valve and hammer spring setup including a hammer denounce device so you can get 40+ shots of .25 instead of under 20 shots before refilling.