ATN X-Sight 5: Why Has Thou Forsaken Me?

If you purchase ATN X-SIGHT 5, you have a nickname that you may not be aware of.

Beta Tester.

But after spending (wasting) a considerable amount of my Saturday afternoon, I think a more appropriate term would be Alpha Tester, or dare I say sucker.

Please don't take what I'm about to say as arrogance, but I do product development for a living, as a Sr. Software Engineer and Product Owner. If I let a product go to production in this state, I'm certain, I'd be looking for a new job by lunchtime.

Listen to the long list of problems:

• RAV Calibration doesn't work in most cases. I was literally banging on the butt of my rifle until my hand hurt to try and get a reading to register. After several reboot sequences and lock ups, I got one reading to register once, but not enough to get RAV to calibrate.
  • RAV doesn't work either. This isn't new to ATN, they didn't even use their own scopes to generate the 240p fps marketing videos, as the video is not from the perspective of the shooter. I guess they think we are just stupid for them to even try that one.
  • Audio doesn't consistently record in all video resolutions. Only a few seconds of audio is recorded in all modes except for the mid quality 60p mode. This is a rookie mistake, and probably turning off power to the mic pre-amps and they are being powered by the filter capacitors for a few seconds.