Athlon Argos BTR

Mine is way off too. I spent quite a while last week while I had the range all to myself, lasing and setting a target at every 5 yds, out to 100 yds. Would walk back to the bench and dial in the best parallax for that distance and mark it on the scope dial with a small dot of White Out. As an example, for lased yds vs. dial I get 10/12.5, 18/30, 28/50, 50/75, 70/100, 100/180.

When I got home, I made a tape to match and wrapped the dial with it. Also, at a given setting/range, you may dial in to have zero parallax but the image isn't in focus. If you set for best focus, parallax is enough to cause poor shot placement. Guess that's the trade off for an inexpensive scope. Tho, I have no experience with $1000 scopes to know if they're any better in this regard.

I need to do the same with my Athlon Helos to see how far off it is.

"Trailryder42"I looked at the Emerald, but I seem to be opting for FFP scopes these days. Really like the Emeralds reticle tho.
That was my thought when I bought the Argos. But I tend to leave both the Argos and the Aztec set on 18X about 95% of the time so I'm not seeing much advantage with the FFP. I agree I like the reticle in the Emerald.

Future potential buyers beware.

I looked at both the Emerald and Argos also, chose the Argos because of the FFP. This is my first FFP and its too early for me to tell if I prefer FFP. Recommendations to future scope buyers, know what you're likely getting with the Argos, a highly inaccurate parallax reading. Essentially Athlon, in responds to my inquiry, said ignore the numbers and oh by the way other manufacture's scopes don't even include numbers. Wake up call, Athlon, your's does!

"addertooth"The only possible work around would be to adjust the ocular so that when the sidewheel is at 50 meters, the 50 meter target is in its best focus. This way the numbers are more relevant, however, you lose clarity.