• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Any reason not to buy an FX Impact .25

Hello folks, 

I am new here to the site. I have been shopping around for more than a few years for a air rifle and I have recently found myself in the financial situation that has allowed me to pursue this as my hobby. 

I ordered myself a Yong Feng compressor, and a scope is on its way. Now all I need is a gun. I am really liking the FX impact for the obvious reasons. 

Is there any reason why I shouldn't be looking at the Impact for my first PCP? 

Buy once cry once. They retain decent resale value so if you find an impact not suiting your needs or too much for you, it'll sell fairly fast. The only thing that should deter you is their complexity, which carries pros and cons with its presence. I'd get a molecular sieve filter to go with your compressor to keep the internals of the new pcp as moisture free as possible, as the one filter the compressor comes with IMO isn't going to be too great.

Get one in the used classifieds. If you don't like it, sell it. Loss will be probably the cost of shipping. Just make sure to buy from a reputable and trusted seller. Or use PayPal to cover your butt. 

I'm much fonder of my Crown than the impact, for a multitude of reasons. I used to own an impact 🙂 it has its intended use and strong points. None of which suited me or were needed. 

Buy once cry once. They retain decent resale value so if you find an impact not suiting your needs or too much for you, it'll sell fairly fast. The only thing that should deter you is their complexity, which carries pros and cons with its presence. I'd get a molecular sieve filter to go with your compressor to keep the internals of the new pcp as moisture free as possible, as the one filter the compressor comes with IMO isn't going to be too great.

Roger! That ⬆️