Am I Expecting too much from Crosman Pellets?

When I first started air gunning a little over a year ago I bought a Gamo Whisper Fusion Mach 1. I bought a few tins of 22 cal Crosman HP pellets at the local Walmart to get started. After I started shooting I was glad the cheap pellets did ok as I knew this was gonna be way different than shooting powder burners. I was shooting indoors and grouping 3/4 inch and figured that was ok to start. What did I know as I was new to the sport. As I shot more and more the groups tightened up but I still had fliers that I knew weren't my fault. I noticed that when a pellet dropped into the chamber there was a good chance it was going to fly left and high. This brought out the metric dial calipers and the sorting started. I found that the really bad fliers measured under 5.4mm. Some were as low as 5.25mm. If I measured the pellets and only shot 5.5mm or larger my groups shrunk to 3/8". I shot 15000 pellets the first year and at least 10000 were Crosman 14.3 gr. The thing is some tins ran 25 to 30% undersize pellets. The ones that were undersize were placed in a tin and when I got a full tin I took it back to Walmart and got a refund. I also started using H and N FTT 5.53mm. They shot great and no sorting required. The last batch of Crosman pellets I got were domed and I bought 6 tins from Walmart online. I opened the first tin and it ran 40% undersize. I took them back and got a refund and took a black marker and wrote defective/undersize on the paper card they are attached to. I recently bought a Marauder and decided to try some Crosmans I had in a tin that were measured and they shot one hole at 12 yards. So here we go again. I bought 1 tin of HP pellets at Walmart to try and I was amazed. Out of 500 pellets I got 9 pellets undersize. I went back and bought 2 more tins as that was all they had and measures some out of each tin and found less than 2% undersize. I waited till they got some more in and got 1 tin and the same. Less th