Airgun safety - Consumers Should Demand Better

I just had an FX Crown fire while on safety (no harm done thank goodness)! This is 100% not acceptable and there is no room for excuses when it comes to ANY rifle firing while on safety. A safety should be an independent mechanical lockout mechanism that is not subject to “adjustment” or “fixing”. If this happened on a firearm it would be front page news. Air gun owners need to DEMAND better when it comes to basic safety related design. Having a valve leak or an O ring wear is one thing….a safety not working is a completely different matter! Someone is going to get seriously hurt, or worse!

I’m brand new to air Guns so my perspective is not tainted by any manufacturer (this was my first ever air rifle and the first time I touched the trigger to test). If a rifle fires while on safety or the rifle trigger can be adjusted by anyone (I did not touch any adjustments) to the point of safety failure then the gun has a serious mechanical design flaw. This is a huge liability for everyone involve.

As responsible gun owners, regardless of how it’s powered and regardless of brand, we need to keep this sport safe for everyone so it can grow and prosper for a long time to come. I’ve been shooting firearms for 40 years and I have NEVER seen anything like this.

1591375427_14312881785eda76437ea508.89717186.jpg

Do you have any idea yet how it happened?

I won’t be making any excuses for a random manufacturer with whom I have no affiliation but the details matter and it may help someone else avoid damage to person or property.

I was taught to always treat a gun as if it were loaded and keep it pointed in a safe direction at all times. The latter being because machines fail. And however statistically small those failures may be, I don’t want to be part of that statistically small number of casualties associated with that brand of incident.