• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Air Venturi Avenger 177 terrible accuracy?

Hi Folks, im new to air guns in general (im a total nub) and recently got one of these Air Venturi Avengers in 177. I have only been shooting close range but recently I have been trying to stretch it out to 50 yards. So far my results have been less than satisfactory. I have shot 4 types of projectiles though it and only one has managed to making something resembling a group. I did just get a chrono and am still playing with it. 

The ammo so far:

H&N Silver Points 11.57gr - seems to shoot all over and i think actually hit the tip of my donnyFL Adapter. These were so bad that I stopped shooting them.

Seneca 16.1gr round nose - I have these running at about 870fps and sometimes these are "decent" but I get a lot of flyers.

Griffin Deep Hollow base 11gr slug - haven chronoed these yet but im guessing close to 1000fps. Many of these i cant even get on the target backboard at 50yards.

Griffin Flat base 13gr slug - these seem to be the best so far. These are running at 950fps with my current tune. I can make about fist sized group at 50 excluding the flyers. 

Thats what I've tried so far. Pretty terrible if you ask me. Whats known to work well in these guns?

Reactions: .20calguy
Slugs take a ton of testing to find something that works well. Some slug manufacturers offer sample packs to help figure out what works best. It can get expensive but a fist size group not counting fliers is pretty unacceptable in my book. Fliers are also not normal by any means so do not discount them if you have fliers, you have a problem. End of story.