Air strippers - yea or nay?

I picked up a very nice used Air Arms s400 MPR recently. It's a beautiful rifle!

20220117_150819.1643394967.jpg

Wanting to know more about it's history, I emailed Air Arms with the SN and got these details back from them:

Serial No Model Details Manufactured

055xxx MPR SPORTER .177 5.1 FTLB WALNUT RH RUBBER BUTT 07.09.2005

At some point in its history, this rifle has been updated with the butt hook, a longer (and regulated) air tube and has been tuned for more power. In my cold (20f) temperatures it's shooting just under 13 fpe. So it's making a good deal more power than the 5.1 fpe it originally was designed for.

UPDATE: I just did a quick test over the chrony where the rifle was normal temperature (not 20f) and it is shooting the .177 CPHP 7.9 grain pellets at 887 fps so that's just under 14 fpe.

I'm still learning the gun so I don't want to prejudge the accuracy, but as I shoot it (with and without the muzzle brake in the pics) the gun seems (sounds) like it's pushing too much air for the power it is producing. So this is where I am wondering if this gun would be a good candidate for a Rowan Air Stripper.

Does anyone have experiences they could share regarding using one? 

Here are a few more pics just because... ;-)

20220117_150650.1643395408.jpg

20220117_150047.1643395460.jpg

20220117_145940.1643395499.jpg

Since taking this photo I have ground down some aluminum from the bottom of the muzzle brake to give this more clearance. I am also testing to see what affect o-ring will have in the barrel band. I realize this band is a critical part with the gun's accuracy. I'm not yet sure if it will like these o-rings or not. I'll circle back on this after doing some testing! 

20220114_130249.1643395539.jpg