• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

air rifle laws and regs in your state.

Laws are often written to be contradictory. That way, they can be subjectively applied on a case by case basis.
Perhaps this happens, but it's not the product of good lawyering. Good lawyers spend a lot of time writing things to be as unambiguous as possible. Sometimes the definitions of words and terms is as long as the document itself, in an attempt to avoid ambiguity. I'm not a lawyer, but I worked a lot with lawyers in drafting commercial documents, and it's not easy to do well. But as with many things, it's easy to do poorly!

Well at least here in Texas you can use an air gun for hunting
here's the Regulation for Air Guns and air Arrow guns

Air Guns and Arrow Guns​

Alligator, game animals, furbearers, squirrels, and non-migratory game birds (except eastern turkey) may be hunted with air guns and arrow guns provided:

• alligators, bighorn sheep, javelina, mule deer, white-tailed deer, pronghorn, and turkey (except eastern turkey) may be taken only with pre-charged pneumatic arrow guns, or pre-charged pneumatic air guns.
  • pre-charged pneumatic air guns must fire a projectile of at least .30 caliber in diameter and at least 150 grains in weight with a minimum muzzle velocity of 800 feet per second or any combination of bullet weight and muzzle velocity that produces muzzle energy of at least 215 foot pounds of energy.
  • squirrels, pheasant, quail, and chachalaca may be hunted with air guns that fire a projectile of at least .177 caliber (4.5mm) in diameter producing a muzzle velocity of at least 600 feet per second.
  • arrows or bolts used with an arrow gun must conform to the same standards for projectiles for archery.
  • arrow guns may not be used to hunt deer or wild turkey during archery season

Air Guns and Arrow Guns​