• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Adjustable turrets and reticle

I'm new to airguns. Hunting with shotguns and low power rifles, I'm used to sighting in for one distance and aiming a little higher if needed. Seeing scopes on airguns and videos on making sight tapes, whats the purpose of the Christmas tree style reticle? I get marks on the main horizontal for wind, but if you're dialing to a range, doesn't the fancy reticle become useless? 

If you dial out most or all of your elevation then you can use your Christmas tree to finish zeroing in so never useless. It is also much faster to use holdover than dialing. As stated above FFP scopes do not change the holdover points as their magnification is changed. So a 4 mill holdover is a 4 mil holdover at 4 power or 16 power. Not so with a second focal plane scope as they are only true mil holdover a one single power towards the top end of magnification.

Also,

Keep in mind most mildot scopes are calibrated at 10X, no matter if it is a FFP scope, or a SFP scope. There are a few exceptions to this, and some scopes are calibrated at magnifications other than 10x. I have to look into this in a little bit more in depth, to see if these calibrated scopes can truly rangefind accurately at the higher magnification that it is calibrated for. It could be that these reticles are only used for reference in shooting, but not for true range calculations. I'll have to acquire one of these scopes, and try out the math. I need another scope anyway.

Getting back to why most scopes are calibrated to 10x. This insures that the mildot to mildot within the scope is calibrated to be a true 3.6 inch at 100 yds, and 36" at 1000 yards. This is for the old school Army and Marine guys that were taught how to range find by only using mildots to measure and determine their quarry's distance.