• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

A question of power.

Obviously I am still very new to air rifles and I was wondering if there is a general classification system for the power level?

An easy comparison (for me at least) would be how rifles classify the cartridges . Pistol, intermediate, standard, magnum and then shoulder dislocators.

Wanting to describe a springer that shoots a 14 grain pellet @ 750 FPS. I know it is reduced power compared to what other spring can accomplish, but is there a name for it?

TIA

Obviously I am still very new to air rifles and I was wondering if there is a general classification system for the power level?

An easy comparison (for me at least) would be how rifles classify the cartridges . Pistol, intermediate, standard, magnum and then shoulder dislocators.

Wanting to describe a springer that shoots a 14 grain pellet @ 750 FPS. I know it is reduced power compared to what other spring can accomplish, but is there a name for it?

TIA

'FPE' foot pounds of energy. This is a formula to denote how hard of a whack the pellet hits with. Its a combination of pellet weight and fps. Also makes possible meaningful comparisons between different weights/calibers/pellet speeds.

Here is a fpe calculator...

https://www.airgunsofarizona.com/Calcs.html

TIA

'FPE' foot pounds of energy. This is a formula to denote how hard of a whack the pellet hits with. Its a combination of pellet weight and fps. Also makes possible meaningful comparisons between different weights/calibers/pellet speeds.

Here is a fpe calculator...

https://www.airgunsofarizona.com/Calcs.html

Perfect!

So, from the calculations the 22 cal pellets is 17.49 fpe. I assume that is a moderate power factor?

The Brits are limited to 12 fpe and they do fine shooting game birds, hares, rodents, and the occasional water buffalo!