.454 slugs in .457 Texan

Well if your Texan can shoot the .452 you will be in luck,...great selection out there and with some great prices.

check this site out, I've used him for over a decade and his product is good and great prices.

I started shooting 452 in my Texan last year and they chamber easier and are just as accurate as the 457 I dropped down from a 281gr NSA 457 to the 197gr NSA 452 and I'm now getting 980 fps where before I was getting around 910fps.
That is great news for anyone owning a Texan .45,......452 has better selection for Airguns.

When I got my Texan .457 early last year the only thing I could find was .452 sized pistol bullets. It shoots those just fine out to 147 yards which is the furthest target on my range behind the house. I have since scrounged up the components to cast and size my own .457 slugs. The .457 are more accurate but enough so to make the investment in casting worth it, don't know yet. I still need to chronograph these and see which one is getting me the best fpe for hunting later this year.

I am hand casting for my Texan SS and I size to .4575 and depending on the slug (I have 9 hand casts) I am hole in hole at 50 yard, even with my heavies..

372g-edit-20220427201801.jpg

You can order samples of the following in .454:

You have to specify .454 in the ordering notes. I'm trying them out now.

You can order samples of the following in .454:

You have to specify .454 in the ordering notes. I'm trying them out now.

I think 45-70 bullets might work well for airguns as well. They usually come in .459 probably wouldn't be hard to find a few guys that can size to .458 or .457

Reactions: Arkansas_Airgunner
I think 45-70 bullets might work well for airguns as well. They usually come in .459 probably wouldn't be hard to find a few guys that can size to .458 or .457