• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

.177 vs .22 practical trajectory?

I asked this question as part of another discussion, but I thought I would post it as a separate topic since it may be useful to others not participating in that particular thread. 

Anyway, what is the difference in trajectory between .177 and .22 out to a distance of 50 yards max? I understand that it's not a fair comparison of a lightweight .177 vs a heavyweight .22. I'm talking about the "typical" weights of pellets used in each. 

I'm still new to airguns, so please forgive my ignorance. 

as said above ... typically using standard weight pellets and an average tune a 177 shoots faster and flatter .. with a .22 and .177 in the same gun for example, and both sighted at optimal distance for longest point blank range, the 177 will need less holdover at 50 ... it wont be much difference at that range we're talking 3/4 vs 1.5" .... but as said its all about speed 'mostly' when it comes to trajectory ..all objects fall at the same rate regardless of weight .... wind effect is another factor but not the main, it can effect distance and windage more with a lighter projectile ..

Hey buddy,

I hope that AG is treating you well🙂.

If you want to get into knowing the trajectory for it or anything else, I have to say this, https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.borisov.strelokpro&hl=en&gl=US can't be beat!

Airguns aren't just something to shoot when one can't get out to the range. Subsonic airgun projectiles will make a expert marksman out of anyone that starts down this road. Several programs out there to map your projectiles flight path as far as you're willing to holdover & click.

BD2EC9D5-09E7-4E97-B0FD-1BA26690F8B0.1629153568.jpeg

Hey buddy,

I hope that AG is treating you well
1f642.svg