• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Newbie to airguns needs some help.

Ian

Apr 6, 2015
NH
I'm pretty new to airguns, because where i'm from (Faroe Islands) everyone owns shotguns and believes that "airgun kind" of guns dosen't do the work. I like hunting for birds, and have been searching for that "silence gun", so i tried an cheap and loud noname 1000fps177 air rifle.
I'm pretty amazed over the range it can shoot, but accuracy is a town in China...
So I sold that air rifle and need help to choose a new one.

I wan't to use the new air rifle to shoot accurate at long distance and be able to kill a Rabbit, Duck or Goose from about 70-100 yards.

So far, my research has led me to some PCP FX Airguns. But i don't know, which caliber to use, can a .22 caliber kill a duck or goose from 70-100 yards or do i need a larger caliber? If so, than the FX Royale 400 og FX T12 400 will most likely do the job, if not, than there is Royale 500 and FX Boss, but they don't have a removable air cylindar.
I want to be able to change air cylindar during the hunt. Or how does this pumps work? how many strokes a needed to fill for ex. an FX Royale 400/500 cylindar?
No one in this country has a PCP gun and no one sells them yet, so finding information about PCP guns or even airguns is nearly impossible.

So I really need your professional help to choose what air rifle is best suited for my kind of hunting.

Sincerely

Ian