• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Modifying an Uragan 2 for PRS Shooting

BD80755D-DA44-4166-9332-D91CCBFAC5F0.jpeg

I think this little endeavor of mine might just work! Got a new Uragan 2 a little while back in my quest for putting together a new NRL22 rifle, ever since they had changed the rules on ammo and calibers for the airgun class. I always wanted to use .30cal slugs for NRL, so I got a U2 in .30 with a 700mm barrel to test out.

Longer version short, I haven't really had much free time to focus on doing anything crazy, but I have a pretty good size range in my backyard now. Little by little, I started learning this rifle and began testing and tuning it until I ended up with just the right adjustments to get it spitting fire. The CZ barrel is chambered very shallow and I figured out that manipulating the probe position foreward/aft allowed me to achieve the right projectile seating deprh for almost any slug that I wanted to shoot.

In the end, I found this rifle to be MOST accurate with (2) slugs - the FX Hybrids (most accurate between 1015-1030) and my absolute favorite of all, the original 62gr Varmint Knockers (970). The RA4 BC of the 62's with this 15.7"/400mm twist CZ is 0.148, so they will definitely work well in NRL matches

Shortcomings and challenges of the U2 for PRS competion - Right away, there were things that I strongly disliked about the rifle. All of which were independently deal breakers in my mind, unless I was able to find a solution for each of them:

1) Safety (fixed) - The safety engaged way too easily and was a PITA to disengage. I fixed this by tightening down the screws on both sides of the safety switch so it can't move freely.