• Please consider adding your "Event" to the Calendar located on our Home page!
  • The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Holdover labeled on Parallax Wheel vs. yardage

I'm just starting out with FT and I've done it both ways and prefer the yardages for my use. The reason is if I change my speed or pellet those holdovers don't work sometimes. I also, switch scopes around on different guns. Usually the yardages on that scope wheel and that scope are the same no matter what gun or pellet Im shooting. Now if you have no intention of changing a thing and leave it alone(which is what I prefer) then I see no problem in doing that at all. I bracket on longer shots if I can and I like to compare my scope wheel to my bracket and it's just easier with the yardage marked. I know several guys I shoot with that just do the holdover and do great. I'm finding out it's whatever you have confidence in your setup and do what works for you and not what others(me included) think is best.

Thanks
Jon

I’ve found It nice to have both, but if your changing pellets and speed it can be tedious to keep editing stuff. Keep in mind that I also am new to the FT experience!

IMG_0622.png

Oh this might get interesting ;)
I'm down to two guns for my open gun for next year it's either a US FT unregulated or a RAWTM 1000. I finally got to hold a US FT Friday and shoot it and shot lights out it was the hunter one to the one I want also. I have shot some RAWs but they are the hm1000 and or too lightweight for what I like. I'm really leaning to the US FT.

Jon

I marked the holdover on my wheel, and it works decently enough. All though I have found over time my eyes just don’t seem to focus the same every time, so many times the holdovers don’t match up well.