• Much like Google Reviews - members are allowed to create (1) unique thread for each vendor/manufacturer. You may "edit" your thread at any time to reflect any changes.

Dear Industry: Maybe it's time to buy some calipers?

• Thread starter Deleted member 50136
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 50136

I have been doing a bit of airgun smithing lately. I have 12 years experience smithing handguns (and 30 years experience designing airframe structures among other things), and I have been surprised by the relative complexity of spring driven airguns.
I've also been surprised by the lack of useful data provided by airgun manufacturers and aftermarket parts suppliers.
Basic stuff like velocity claims with pellet weight and atmospheric conditions, CRITICAL DIMENSIONS of things like springs, seals, and fasteners.

Just a moment ago I was looking at the website of a well known aftermarket parts supplier, and the part I was looking at had these dimensions reported:

.019 × .012 × .002 cm

Now, the part in question was, in reality, roughly by eye, 2.5 x 0.7 cm.

Another very popular supplier offers what would be considered engineering services in any other industry, apparently without the benefit of a qualified engineer. This is the definition of Tort Liability!

These examples (and plenty more) make me wonder about the general quality of engineering in this industry.

I could specifically mention some of the worst acts by the worst actors, but I'm not here to kill the Easter Bunny and take away everybody's fun, just here to get some decent data so I don't have to guess or seek questionable advice when I need to purchase a part.

Last edited by a moderator:
I have been doing a bit of airgun smithing lately. I have 12 years experience smithing handguns (and 30 years experience designing airframe structures among other things), and I have been surprised by the relative complexity of spring driven airguns.