• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

AGT Vixen VS Brocock Ranger XR or other recommendations

I am relatively new to the PCP game, but am looking to step up my game from the MROD Field and Target for pest control and backyard target shooting. I am interested in opinions or recommendations on the AGT Vixen VS Brocock Ranger XR especially if you have first hand experience with both of these. Criteria are most importantly that it must quite for backyard use so interested in how these compare to the MROD, compact, rails for tripod, minimal adjustment required to shoot, side lever, low maintenance and .22. I have not totally ruled out the bullpup, but it is not my first choice. Do these fit my requirements or is there another option I am missing? I am currently filling with a hand pump and that has not been an issue with the MROD, but do realize that I may need to upgrade for a large high pressure cylinder. 

I believe the Vixen is a bottle gun and the Ranger XR a tube gun. I'm partial to the Brocock because my Compatto and Bantam HR have been awesome. Thousands of pellets, no hiccups, easy 3/4" groups at 40 yards, much smaller if I apply myself. You could probably pump up the Ranger, the Vixen? You'll need a SCBA tank.

I am pumping my Marauder and I don't think it is bad at all so I imaging the Ranger will be a piece of cake. I think my mind would be made up if the Ranger had a slight larger cylinder and higher shot count. Maybe the Concept XR is what I am looking for. 

I vote for the XR. It’s lighter in weight, MUCH higher shot count and reliable as a rock. AGT makes solid guns but they are much heavier, if that is a factor? AGT typically has very good triggers. The XR trigger is OK for hunting but takes some adjusting to get it really light for BR shooting.

XR has a nice power adjuster which is a plus.