• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

a completely new person to air guns in need of help

Hi I'm a newbie to Airguns and hunting in general. I'm not sure exactly what to get in terms of gear. I'm looking to hunt rabbits (cottontail) possibly gophers and starlings and maybe pigeons. My budget would probably be around 600 bucks tops. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks

(Edit)
So would there be any way to ask the same question but in a 300 dollar budget.
PS.
Can you fill a maurader with a hand pump

Hi, 

Welcome to the airgun world. For your request, I would recommend you the benjamin Discovery .22cal with Benjamin Hand Pump and the combo UTG 3x9-40 scope and UTG rings. The combo will fit well for what you are looking (efficient range 30-50 yrds). In additional, you can try the Benjamin Marauder .25 cal but it gonna go over your budget a little bit. 

Another suggestion, though I agree with Sushi as well, is giving Mike from Flying Dragon airguns a call. Decent Chinese guns for very reasonable prices. Also, check out DiscosRUs.net. Norm sells a lot of refurbished Discos.

As sushi mentioned, if you put a little more in or can find one used, the upgrade to an MRod might be worth it. It is a much quieter gun and is also a repeater.

Good luck

Reactions: RoyE77
Both great start up suggestions! I would type the very same thing. A few more things on Discovery vs Marauder. The discovery works at 2000 psi max and the Mrod at 3000 psi max. So, less pumping. Also, the Disco has open sights so, you can shoot without a scope if you want. The Marauder is the most quiet PCP I've ever heard. When I shot my Dad's for the first time, I thought it was either out of air or broken! It's really that quiet